Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Luscious lilies

I first planted these lilies a few years ago, and being told that they were not particularly hardy, or maybe susceptible to winter wet, I repotted them for the first few winters and kept them in a cold frame, replanting them in the spring.

For some reason I forgot to lift them last autumn and this year when I saw only a few shoots emerging I thought I'd blown it. Apparently not, it seems, as many shoots finally emerged and now they're flowering very well - a couple of dozen flowers at least. Lilium nepalense is stoloniferous, so spreads around quite quickly if it enjoys the conditions. The only downside to these beauties from the southern slopes of the Himalayas is that the flowers hang downwards and it's quite hard to see the dark interiors. I have mine planted on a bank, but it's not really high enough. See another picture on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.