Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hey, yo - a little help here, please!

This is a juvenile red-bellied woodpecker and she was raising a ruckus on the clothesline this morning, peeping madly to get someone's attention. It's comical to hear the youngsters vocalize because they literally squeak, quite different to the loud call they will make as an adult. The baby jays were on hand this morning too, making all kinds of racket and getting into mischief. All was fun and games until suddenly the adult jays sounded the alarm and all the birds scattered. Apparently there was a hawk in the vicinity, although I never saw it. The jays were jumpy for quite awhile afterwards.

I had some client work today, then lunch with our attorney (who I adore and will miss when I move). Then back home to putter. The rain has held off for much of the day, so I spent a few hours outside. I saw something quite fascinating - a small wolf spider carrying all her babies on her back. I've read about this, and even seen it here on Blip, but never actually seen it "in person." The pictures I got weren't very good, but I did post one on FLickr HERE, not for arachnaphobes!. It speaks volume to my own progress as a spider-hater that I was down on my belly taking photos instead of screaming and running in the house.

Seven other photos posted starting here on FLickr and including the daily dose of hummers, a hungry wasp, a completely delightful young oriole and a silly young blue jay.

Thank you for sending my hummingbird moth to the spotlight page - very exciting and a bit humbling.

Tomorrow will mark my third year on Blip ... that is hard to imagine as it seems like only yesterday that I cautiously posted my first photo here. I shall have to come up with something suitable to mark the occasion ... but I'll warn you now that it will very likely be another hummingbird...

Happy Tuesday...

Deb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.