Trial and Error

By DawnC

Little Church on the Prairie

I cycled past this church on my bike ride last Sunday and have had a bee in my bonnet about visiting it ever since. It is St Hubert's at Idsworth and is a diminutive chapel inhabiting a beautifully idyllic setting within the South Downs. It is surrounded by fields of crops and wild flowers (known locally as the Idsworth opium fields) which are the product of the national Nature Improvement Areas initiative.

A local couple who were walking their dogs there this evening told me that the church has a regular congregation of around thirty parishioners, which is 'about right' for its size. Unfortunately it was locked this evening but I was still able to sneak a look through the windows at the wonderful 14th century mural on the north wall of the chancel.

A lovely little place and well worth a visit. More information here if of interest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.