Lunch

Had a relaxing lunch today with Irish friends, Dennis and Naomi, in a little restaurant below the château of Castelnau. The terrace gives on to spectacular views across the valley. Sometimes, though, it is difficult to capture such a view on camera, so I contented myself with simply enjoying it, and instead blipped our friends sharing a smile over what was a simple, rustic meal that we all enjoyed.

No rest for the wicked, though. Up at 6am tomorrow to catch a flight to Leeds, where I am attending the Harrogate crime writing festival. My book, "The Chessmen", has been shortlisted for the Theakston's Old Peculiar Crime Novel of the Year award, and the six selected authors have to parade themselves on stage in front of an audience of hundreds before the winner is announced. A bit like a beauty pageant. I have no expectation of winning (I don't look good in a swimsuit). My event at the festival, which I am sharing with Anne Cleeves (Shetland), is on the Friday evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.