Sydney

By Sydney

Wee Gus has coffee with Archbishop of Canterbury

I have been sticking pretty close to home, rearranging furniture, cleaning, trips to the charity shops, cleaning, watering the garden, cleaning and working on a watercolor I am making for my eldest daughter, Courtney. Since I have done nothing of note to blip about, I thought I would blip Wee Gus having coffee with the Archbishop of Canterbury.

A few weeks ago my father was here visiting and he asked me why I had the A of C on my mantle. It was not really a question, more of a comment with an inflection at the end, as of course he knows why I have the Archbishop on my mantle, it is because, as he says, "You have more religious art than the Vatican!" He sees it as religious, I see it as interesting and beautiful, I was unaware that I had such a theme going, until he pointed it out. Over the years I have been drawn to these pieces when I find them in 2nd had shops or antique stores and bring them home with me (sometimes I pay first :)

I don't set out to find something religious but it seems to happen that way. Maybe because I was never steeped in religion as a child I see these thing as speaking of love and peace rather than sentries standing in as reminders of a doctrine's moral castigation.

But I was so pleased that dad identified the Archbishop independently! I asked him how he knew who this was and he replied, "because it looks like him." I looked it up and it does look very much like the A of C, Geoffrey Fisher, who had some interesting (?) views on the use nuclear weapons. But Wee Gus will set him to right over coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.