Final summit

A good move changing the days round as
a) yesterday's was a bit easier after the long day
b) it was probably the best combination of route and mountain

The route started on a track through the forest to a mountain hut the up in stages through a rocky valley and past lakes before a fairly steep rough climb to a narrow rocky ridge which broadened out to the top ( reminded me a bit of Scotland). Lots of flowers again, included a large spotted yellowish gentian, and great views. From the ridge we could see the Rila Monastery and most of the long walk from 2 days before. This is looking the other way over the way up. It was the smallest of the 3 peaks but we had to climb over 1000m up (and down).
All was well but somehow, on the way down, despite being careful on the rough ground I managed to fall off the path, causing great alarm to those following me! I rolled a couple of times, then stopped myself, got up and carried on - what else could I do? I had scrapes and bruises all down my left thigh, a small cut on the right knee and some bruises on my backside - fortunately nothing serious and not particularly painful.
Despite my shenanigans the group still did the walk in record time, and we didn't feel we were hurrying.
Once back at the bus it was off to Sofia for the night where the final meal was rather disappointing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.