OLD NEWCASTLE

Lovely weather again today. I went to the Theatre Royal this afternoon. Saw an Agatha Christie play - Black Coffee. The main character was Hercule Poirot using his " leetle grey cells " to solve the murder. I enjoyed it even though the actor who played Poirot was too young --- and too thin.

I have blipped the theatre building before so I decided to take a shot of another old building in town. This is the former main Post Office. It was built in 1872 in the Neo-Palladian style which is typical of the beautiful Grainger Town area of the city. It was announced in May this year that it is to undergo a £5 million pound revamp.

I used to be very familiar with this building during 1969/1970 when I started work in Newcastle. After leaving the office at 5pm every day I had to go to this post office with the recorded and registered letters and stand in a long queue which mostly comprised of other office staff doing the same chore. So instead of going straight home I had to spend my own time in the post office queue. Until another new starter arrived and took over this task.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.