The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Four years

I posted my first blip on 18 July 2010, four years ago. At my current rate of progress, I will have been blipping for more than five years before Blipfoto celebrates my four year milestone of 1460. The blipversaries that mark 1, 2, 3, 4 years etc are a bit meaningless for people like me who fail to blip every day. So I've found the nearest thing I could this evening to a red balloon: the sun sinking into the thick murk over the Lake District, changing colour from yellow to red.

Tomorrow is the Bishop Wilton show in Wifie's home village. It was at this event in 2010 that the late and much loved On My Doorstep told me about Blipfoto and gave me a card with his journal name on (and it is one of the quirkiest and most entertaining journals I have seen in 4 years). He's not here to say thank you to, but I am so grateful to him for introducing me to this place. That first small action of uploading a rather dull photograph, and writing a few dull words started me on a voyage that has been full of surprises and delights. It's difficult to imagine life without it now.

Tonight, Radio 4 broadcast Calum's Road again. The dramatisation of the true story of Calum on the Hebridean island of Raasay was produced and directed by one of our fellow blippers, sunshineband (though she isn't a fellow). The production brought wonderfully to life the story of one man's stubborn determination to build a road to his isolated community. If you haven't already heard it, it will be on BBC's iPlayer for the next week, do seek it out and give yourself a treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.