NORTHERN PRIDE and NORTHERN SADNESS

Went to Newcastle today for two reasons. One was to see the Northern Pride PARADE I watched it pass down Northumberland Street. It had been raining heavily earlier but it was dry for the parade. Lots of COLOURFUL characters taking part.

Second reason for going to Newcastle was to see the tributes at St James Park for 2 local men who died on Malaysian Flight MH17. They were both passionate supporters of Newcastle United. John Alder was aged 62 and he had not missed a match ( home or away ) since 1973. He was nicknamed " The Undertaker " as he always wore a black suit and white shirt to matches. He was a well known in this area. Liam Sweeney was only 28 years old and he also travelled the world to support his favourite team. They were both on their way to New Zealand to see Newcastle United play a series of matches out there when their plane was shot down over Ukraine.

Lots of fans have been laying flowers and tributes at St James Park the home of Newcastle United Football Club. They started off around the statue of Sir Bobby Robson - former Newcastle Manager - but due to the wet weather they had been moved under cover. When I saw them I was overcome with emotion. Such a waste of two lives. Caught up in something so unexpected and random. Just following their football team. It was wonderful to see tributes had been left by the fans of Sunderland Football Club - our bitter rivals but brought together in grief. I didn't stay long as I was too tearful.

R.I. P John and Liam and all the other men. women and children who lost their lives on Flight MH17.

So I moved from the fun and celebration of Northern Pride to the sadness at the football ground. Mixed emotions today.

After I came away from St James Park I popped into Tesco ( for fruit of course ) and then I got the bus to The Metrocentre. It had started raining again so I thought it best to head for an indoor shopping centre. I bought a holdall - I will use it next weekend when I go on an overnight trip to the Midlands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.