1st time

It’s always good to be doing something for the first time.

Yesterday I went to an American football game for the first time. Ingolstadt Dukes against München Rangers in the regional league.

In Dukes

We only went because Dr D’s No 2 daughter was to be cheerleading.

Ironically I watched the sport a lot when I lived in New York, and then later when it became popular on British TV, but it must be 20 years since I’d seen a game.

ABC’s Monday Night Football with Howard Kosell. I also experienced a Superbowl party at Jack P’s house in 1979.

It was a bit of a culture shock to be transported to Bavaria for the first live event. Very enjoyable, and the home team won. Exciting at the end. A bit slow the rest of the time, but plenty beer and Bratwurst to pass the time. It was 32°, so the beer kiosks were busy.

The Ingolstadt team plays in the wee stadium which used to be home to the city’s Bundesliga 2 soccer/fußball team. I’d guess the crowd was about a thousand.

[Ed note:- Monday newspaper gives crowd at 1,800. Dukes won the league by winning on Saturday night.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.