Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Sumatran Beauty

I went to the zoo today. I have very mixed feeling about zoos. I really don't like the idea of animals in captivity particularly when I have been privileged enough to see them in their natural habitat. The zoo was full of children and no doubt is very educational but wouldn't it be lovely if there was another way for children to be educated. I think people look for a while and move on to the next exhibit and you will not learn much about the animals by doing that. You need to stay and watch and learn and observe.

I stayed and watched the Sumatran tigers for a while. This one was reasonably active as it was close to feeding time and it was looking out for it's keeper. It walked over to the door and sniffed and then pulled a face like the domestic cats do when they are soaking up smells. It knocked over a bin and then settled here to wait out for the food. I could almost swear it was looking at me here. I wonder just what it was like for it on it's side of the glass, could it see me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.