Beside the seaside

As promised yesterday, the fitness regime started today.

I got up and went for a nice wee jaunt with Remy. It was practically deserted on the journey out to Longniddry Bents, it was blissful - barely any cars or people at all. That's what a Sunday morning looks like I guess.

The Bents were all but deserted too. After sampling all 3, I decided on no. 2 for a wee relax and picnic on the beach. So here I am on the beach, with Remy in the background (he didn't want to get sand in his chain - the wuss).

I cycled roughly 26 miles, effectively going along the Edinburgh Marathon route (except starting and finishing in Holyrood) and I've got to say it was lovely - remembering wee things along the way. It's funny but I'll always tear up when I see a certain road end where my parents stood and cheered for me both times - mile 14/21. And today was no exception.

The way back was a little tougher - I'm not sure if it's psychological, but I reckon I'll always hate that road back past the power station. Running or cycling - it's so disheartening! The journey back through Portobello was also fairly traumatic. Far too busy - especially for someone who hates people! I definitely chose the right beach to go to!

I'm now relaxing at home before my final commonwealth games volunteer training session tonight. I'm looking forward to meeting all the people I'll be working with. I can't believe it starts next week! Exciting stuff!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.