Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

DAFT

This brick holds down the lid of a plastic box. The lid had filled with water and this wee one was drowning there. I rescued it, but the daft bugger just spent the next five minutes climbing back up the diving board brick and falling in again.

It was a daft day for me too. I took the lid of a bin in the garden where I store plant pots, had a bit of a rake around for the pot I wanted and inadvertently disturbed a wasp nest. Got three stings and was chased up the garden like a scene from a kids comic. Then the hired car broke down in heavy traffic on the way back from the docs. The RAC man was there in 5 minutes, but he insisted on talking to my son and ignoring me (the driver, hirer of the vehicle, holder of the key, etc.) Obviously, I was too feminine to know how to describe what went wrong. Finally picked up a replacement car at the airport, which is looking so lovely in preparation for the Games. I almost wished I was arriving from somewhere and seeing Glasgow for the first time, in the sunshine, with the flags and flowers. Meanwhile, I had sent son home and told him where to find the spare back door key, but he had been unable to get the key to turn in the lock. More WD40. It seems to work on everything. I wonder if it would work on wasps?

The Professor is away. That's what's wrong. Oh gosh, I miss him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.