The Loneliness of the Long Distance Bowler

I know I'm my own worst enemy. I pushed too hard too soon after I thought I'd recovered. I hadn't ... and now I'm paying the price. Are any of us immune from being led astray by these deep unconscious drives? I guess it's a kind of addiction. For me, especially after a day stuck inside, a beautiful summer evening has to be exploited to the full. There is something inside me which doesn't allow me to sit still and simply soak up the sunshine. I need to be moving - seeing as much as I can and feeling as alive as I can. It's driven me nuts tonight not being able to get outside and enjoy the warmth of the air and the clear skies.

After the rain and cloud of the weekend it was back to the normal gloriously sunny weekday weather for when most of us are stuck inside working. A sneak look at the forecast suggests it's going to remain beautiful all week - until Saturday, of course, when it seems like we're due for another wet weekend. That hasn't lifted my mood. My head remains heavy. My legs remain heavy. I guess I just have to be patient, but it's not easy for me to do the sensible thing and rest.

Sometimes it's just good to have a moan. Thanks for being there to listen.

I had my lunch in the park where this one chap was practicing in the heat on his own. He had a match tonight and felt the need to get to the know the far corners better. I admire his dedication. I can relate to that drive!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.