Gifts of Grace

By grace

Riveting

[Clearer rivets in BIG] There is so much development going on around the town that I am constantly being given a teaching on impermanence.

Here a gasometeter a couple of streets away that catches the evening light at certain times of the year. I'd often thought to blip its pleasing curves. I have an odd nostalgia for gasometers, there was one on the way to my primary school that burned coke, the smell of coke and gas take me right back to that street. They're tearing the one nearby down releasing that same evocative smell and revealing a mix of jagged metal and pastel colours. I'll never get to blip the evening light on that rounded wall now.

And right opposite they are tearing down an ancient wall that, again, I'd often thought to blip in the evening light. Not possible now - it's rubble. It was a hard choice between the sunstreaked rubble and the ice cream metal. I'm taking a gamble that the rubble (and the evening sun) will be there tomorrow. We'll see.

For good measure both of my sit-spots have been changed almost beyond recognition, are in the process of taking on new forms and atmospheres. I'm just rambling really, musing on my affection for these familiar landmarks that are disappearing all around me.


#am posting elsewhere.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.