Pansies for peace

Dumfries Quakers had a stall at this year's Environment Fair back in March. They provided inference kinds of seeds, yogurt pots and compost and we're encouraging people to plant something to take home, with instructions on aftercare.
Sarah chose pansies and put her yogurt pot on the kitchen windowsill, covered by a plastic bag. When the seeds germinated and the bag came off, Sarah flew out to Cambodia for three months and the aftercare was left to me. When the plants were big enough, I transplanted them into pots, and later into a window box. The flowers are beautiful now, all different colours. These deep purple ones are my favourite, and I like how the petals of the one on the left look like a heart.
Every time I pass the window, I think of the Quakers and their peaceful intention, and how the tending of plants and children is the antithesis of violence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.