Comrades Wall of Honour.

Today we took a drive up to Drummond which is the half way point of the 56 mile The Comrades Marathon

The Wall of Honour is a retaining wall made of blocks, running along a stretch of road on the way to Drummond. Runners who have completed this arduous journey can purchase a block, and have a plaque with their name and race number inscribed placed on the block. The yellow plaques are for runners who complete 1 to 9 Comrades, and the green plaques are for runners who have completed 10 or more and earned their Green Number.

I completed my 10th Comrades in 2005, and ran my 11th Comrades in my Green Number in 2006. I trained for these last two Comrades while living in Teddington. As you can see from the race profile there are some mighty hills in this race - so it was difficult finding hills to train on!

I had never seen my block, so was delighted to find it today!

I am winging my way back to the UK tomorrow. I believe it is very hot back home!
I am going to miss Jenny, Brian and Tanith, but am looking forward to seeing Mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.