Young Jay

The morning air was filled with the raucous cries and shrieks of this gorgeous young Eastern Bluejay and his flock. He posed in the tree, but then hopped down to a feeder hanger, so very close and I was able to snag the shot of his whiskers and a mug shot.

The sparrows are eating constantly and more feathers are appearing as the day goes on!

Yesterday afternoon I had the windows open, but the curtains closed to the sun. I heard strange bird sounds, cooing and clucking and fussing. I looked out in time to see wild turkey chicks frantically following their mother in the garden and across our patio and fire pit. Ten chicks rushing and peeping trying to keep up with mama turkey. The shots are a bit blurry, it all happened so quickly and 300mm lens is not easy to hand hold on the fly.

For the Record,
This day came in sunny with building heat and humidity. I'm working on a slideshow program for a Garden Club presentation, in September. I'm the club historian, so I've opened the old suitcase of Club records and clippings passed on to me from the past. I'll use some of those and some of my photos from the last dozen years. That will round out a September show for our 85th Year Hanover Garden Club Anniversary. I'll attach my iPad to the flat screen at the hall where we have our meetings to deliver the presentation.

All hands healthy

Screenshot

Nelson

A wonderful bird & human story that I heard in the car this morning on the way home from the train. Maybe some of the poor children in limbo after crossing our border will see and recognize a songbird that winters from where they fled...and feel a connection. The folks in the story do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.