What's in a Name?

Business trip to Glasgow today. Journey delayed because of the poor soul that lost his life near Haymarket. Arrived in Glasgow around 10am and the city centre was strangely quiet given what's going on. But by the time I was leaving in the afternoon it was quite different.

Lots of folk in track suits and every second person seemed to be wearing a Commonwealth Games security pass. But no time to take snaps as had to rush to meeting then had to run back through the crowds to make the train back to the East.

In Glasgow I was on the top (ninth) floor of the building that the meeting was being held in. Seagull chicks sitting on the small balcony area. Took some snaps of them but through the tinted glass they didn't turn out very well.

But coming back to East Lothian on the local train I saw that the station name of Longniddry had been changed to Longer Niddry for the Commonwealth Games. I know it's a bit of fun but I can't help but feel that the money spent on this could have been put to better use. Yes bah! humbug! I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.