Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Evening Light At Askham

This morning I went to the care home to get The Mother, thankfully I found her in better condition than last night. Her hearing aids were working and she had had some sleep.

We set off at 11am so that I could take her to see her bungalow. She chose a couple of special ornaments: two nude ladies she had made in pottery classes and a white cat resembling Sheba. She didn't really want to be bothered looking at any paperwork so I made lunch, a ready meal from the deep freeze.

She was wheeled around the rooms, rang a couple of friends then we got back into the car for her appointment at the Infirmary. The car journey gave her chance for another sleep to set her up well for the visit.

Our 3.30pm appointment was half an hour late and lasted an hour and a half. She did extremely well to maintain a wakeful concentration on what was being discussed and answered questions well.

After the Gynaecologist had examined her we were no wiser but I am to take her back very soon for a CT scan.

She knew she would have missed tea at the home so she stayed in the car at our house and I brought her a mug of soup and some fruit out. The staff will offer her a sandwich later. She was glad to have me undress her and put her onto her bed.

She had done very well, I came away pleased and had a drive through Askham and Lowther on the way home to catch St. Michael's in the evening sunlight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.