Coming in for a Landing

It is raining here today. We are supposed to get a record amount for this date. It is actually restful as we've had quite a long (lovely) dry spell and the plants are ready for a good watering. So I'm enjoying the rain.

One bonus about a rainy day is that the birds like to hang out on the deck instead of in the air. So when I put out the peanuts and other goodies today, they came in droves. We had a female Evening Grosbeak. Mrs Bella Flick the Norther Flicker came. The jays had a field day. And the crows came flying in boldly looking for some goodies. Even the seagulls came, dang 'em! Great day for photos.

I chose this one of the crow. I think he's an American Crow because he is quite large. But it could be a Northwest Crow. We get both and hybrids of both. Can't tell for sure. I was delighted to get a good photo of the front of him as he came in for a landing. This is cropped so I'm not sure it is any better large.

This morning was another of our early days. We were up at 5:30 again. I'd like to say I'm used to it. But unfortunately that is far from true. I'm fairly shattered and may take a nap. Though we do have a few errands to do before the day is over.

Hope you all have a great day and evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.