More.....

Moth trap goodies...sorry!
It has been sooo hot again, and the heat combined with getting up at 5 for several days (as well as going to bed very late) left me so exhausted at the end of today that I just went to bed for a lie down when I got home!
In consequence I had nothing to blip other than the moths in my fridge!
On the plus side, it was the last day of term today....so 6 weeks of chilling!!! yay!
Today's moth is a Yellow-tail moth (Euproctis similis), the beauty the larva I blipped on 26 may 2014 turned into.
I love the way they sit with the tip of the abdomen exposed, showing the yellow tip. I think this is a female with this tuft of yellow hair, which is used to cover the newly laid eggs.
They are fairly common in England and Wales, occupying a number of different habitats, including gardens, and fly in July and August.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.