The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Landing

A four spotted chaser comes into land on a little twig above a bog pool at Foulshaw Moss. This one was actively patrolling the vicinity and seeing off any other dragonfly that came past. Hence there was some predictability about it returning to its perch. Nevertheless, it still required the assistance of the bigger fella telling me that it was approaching. This was the best of the four shots I managed with it returning to its sentry post. Getting a sharper shot would take more time, patience and luck than I had today.

By the time Gus had been walked, the moth trap emptied (the haul including only my second ghost moth in the garden), it was already very hot when we arrived at Foulshaw . Looking across the bog to the osprey tree, we could just see a head in the nest through the heat haze. But we had better views of two hobbies flying high above our heads.

In the afternoon, at last we saw our first Scotch Argus butterflies of the year on the Knott. Though one of photos taken by the bigger fella yesterday turned out to be one too.

A full-on day, I'm exhausted now. I need to go back to work tomorrow for a rest. The comments are still off, I'm afraid. I must get a good night's sleep tonight. Thank you for the stars and hearts for the last two commentless blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.