isbi

By isbi

I think that I shall never see.....

..... a poem as lovely as a tree.

It's hard to choose a blip after an afternoon walk in the Valley. This tree appealed to me. I'm really noticing them even more after MonoMonday:Trees. This also looks nice in mono (and LARGE), but I'll stick with the colour version.

Thank you for your lovely comments on the portrait of Adelaide yesterday. She spent much of today in spotlight!

I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.
A tree whose hungry mouth is pressed
Against the earth's sweet flowing breast;
A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;
A tree that may in Summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;
Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.
Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.

-- Joyce Kilmer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.