The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Bowood 2014 #27

These are the Bowood House terraces, with the Lake in the background. I spotted the grebe and its chicks on the lake, three herons perched in trees on the far side of the lake and a lone tern among the gulls, too far away to see which kind.

When I got near the entrance kiosk I saw Winnie, the 20-year old pony, having been brought out by Charley from the Little Barn for exercise. A small crowd had gathered around as she grazed on the grass.

L.
24.7.2014 (1336 hr)

Blip #1332
Consecutive Blip #194
Day #1571

Lenses: Pentax 12-24 mm, 17-70 mm, 55-300 x1.4 mm

Bowood 2014 series
Bowood series
Bowood 2013-2014 (Flickr collection)(Work in progress)
Gardens series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Byrds - Eight Miles High (recorded 25 January 1966, Hollywood CA)
Happy birthday, Roger McGuinn (born James Joseph McGuinn III, 13 July 1942, Chicago IL).
While "tracking" The Byrds' first single, "Mr. Tambourine Man", at Columbia studios, McGuinn discovered an important component of his style. "The 'Ric' (Rickenbacker guitar) by itself is kind of thuddy," he notes. "It doesn't ring. But if you add a compressor, you get that long sustain. To be honest, I found this by accident. The engineer, Ray Gerhardt, would run compressors on everything to protect his precious equipment from loud rock and roll. He compressed the heck out of my 12-string, and it sounded so great we decided to use two tube compressors (likely Teletronix LA-2As) in series, and then go directly into the board. That's how I got my 'jingle-jangle' tone. It's really squashed down, but it jumps out from the radio. With compression, I found I could hold a note for three or four seconds, and sound more like a wind instrument. Later, this led me to emulate John Coltrane's saxophone on Eight Miles High. Without compression, I couldn't have sustained the riff's first note." - Wikipedia

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.