Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

ONE PERFECT ROSE*

When life is a bit higgledy-piggledy it's good to notice to notice the many things that turn out just right.

I planted five new rambling and climbing roses this year to cover the bare trellis. They are all flowering beautifully but at the moment too short to be seen above the other flowers at the front of the bed - unless you have a good poke about to find them. I am as self confessed poker.

One more sleep until the Professor comes home. Already the world seems a brighter place.

*A single flow'r he sent me, since we met.
All tenderly his messenger he chose;
Deep-hearted, pure, with scented dew still wet--
One perfect rose.
I knew the language of the floweret;
"My fragile leaves," it said, "his heart enclose."
Love long has taken for his amulet
One perfect rose.

Why is it no one ever sent me yet
One perfect limousine, do you suppose?
Ah no, it's always just my luck to get
One perfect rose.

Dorothy Parker

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.