Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Civic Park

I don't think I have blipped the fountain in Civic Park before, perhaps I have but I can't remember. To the left and back you can see the Brett Whiteley sculpture outside the Art Gallery which I have blipped before (the one with the egg on a nest). The building centre and back is the library. All along that back street used to be big Hills Figs. They were cut down quite some time ago now much to the anguish of the protesters but now new trees have been planted. It still looks a little strange to me but given time, the new trees will grow and it will resemble what it once was.

I went to Sydney by train today. Two woman got on at Wyong and talked non stop until Central (nearly two hours). I was smiling at a gentleman who couldn't take his eyes off them. I saw him shake his head and say "Days of Our Lives". Needless to say I got the quiet carriage home. You know, the one with the young mother and kids playing "I spy" and the young thing with the volume so loud on her ipod I could her the duff duff music. Still, it beat the shamozzle on the M1 this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.