Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Burns Night in Edinburgh

A fine pair of socks belonging to my husband, and knitted by my Auntie (who sadly passed away just over a year ago).

A small blip reminder of the fact that it is the birthday of Robert Burns. Last year we were celebrating his 250th all year as a reason to promote Homecoming to Scotland, so this year must be 251.

Edinburgh tourists are not as much in evidence during January, but I was lucky that our cottage was occupied for a long weekend break by a family celebrating the end of Doctor's exams. So it was a bit of a surprise to find that it was so difficult to make a recommendation to them for a restaurant to eat a Burns' Supper on a Monday night.

First of all, many restaurants close on a Monday. Secondly, those who had a Burns offering seem to have done so on Saturday, or Tuesday lunchtime, but I couldn't find any to recommend for Monday.

But the Royal Mile pubs came to the rescue and The Whiski Bar came up trumps. I've just heard (I'm updating the journal later) that our guests had a great time at the Burns Supper being held there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.