Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Ghost Milk

I had a little more time to explore Coventry before and after my meeting. Walking up one street on the trail of a 2-Tone heritage plaque, I turned around to find this spectacular ghost sign behind me.

While it was tempting to go for another Coventry icon like the Lady Godiva statue or the public realm outside the Transport Museum, I couldn't miss the chance of showcasing this sign.

The top level text is clear enough, but underneath you can also make out an earlier slogan: "Mothers! Nurse your babies. If you can't, get Nestlé's."

While I can admire this as a piece of advertising heritage and urban culture, please see Baby Milk Action for why that campaign is still going, or the history of the Nestle boycott that emerged from the baby milk scandal in the 1970s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.