Day 5: Suisse O Week, Trockener Steg 2939m

Wow, what a day! This was entitled the 'Icy Day' and an American orienteering friend described it as the closest we would get to orienteering on the moon! The landscape at Trockener Steg is basically what the retreating glacier has left behind with snow fields. I was pants today but I was having so much fun skidding across snow and running across rock, all in the lee of the Matterhorn itself, I didn't care!

If you look in large on my blip you will see the finish area for the competition to the very right. To get to our start we had to walk right round this lake then go up on to the next level. You can probably just see the banners and very tiny people. Fantastic day!

After our evening meal we decided to go marmot spotting and we did indeed spot three on a rock just outside the town. I took a rubbish blip but will upload it tomorrow. Last day tomorrow, wonder what that will bring?

More blips from today in my Zermatt album here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.