Reflecting on Vivian Maier: again

My thanks to nhc for a fascinating interview on Vivian Maier with Pamela Bannos, who writes, "as opposed to the nanny who was also a photographer, I consider her a photographer who also happened to be a nanny." I have been wanting to read an analysis of the Maier phenomenon that includes gender and class perspectives, and Bannos offers those.

If you're really interested in Maier, Bannos is the one, in my opinion, worth listening to. If you have any doubts, and if you can stand to wade through six minutes of Maier clichés (quirky nanny, reclusive nanny, difficult nanny, very private nanny)...Bannos appears in this videotape at about the six-minute mark and starts calling it as she sees it. I can't wait for Bannos' book on Maier to come out. Well, I can wait. I will wait. And while I'm waiting, I continue admiring the work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.