Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Just a Silly Seagull

Does anyone remember the Arthur Askey gem?
I remember finding a box of old gramophone records in the attic which had been stashed for decades. The space under the roof of my grandparents house was out of bounds but, I'd decided to explore one day. Alongside the Bach, Beethoven and other classics was a box full of old ditties which had belonged to my aunt. There were a number of Arthur Askey numbers and other delightful tunes like Dinah Shore's, Buttons and Bows. Needless to say I took them all down and spent many happy hours of listening. For once my disobedience was forgiven and my grandmother and I laughed as a we sang silly songs for weeks after.

With a day off for James, he and I loaded the dogs into the car this morning and headed for the coast. The beach I use most often is part of a nature reserve. It's so quiet you could hardly believe that it's a beach on the south coast. I've recently heard a rumour that it's a naturists haunt but I've never seen anyone less than decently clad and it may be people mistake naturalist for naturist. :) All to my advantage.

We swam in the sea with the dogs and had a wonderful walk along the shoreline. From nowhere, just as we were about to leave, the cloudless sky started filling, the wind from zero became a gale and the thunder and lightning was impressive. Half an hour later it was over!

Fish and Chips was a must, so we went into Selsey where I introduced James to the delight of Huss. Why people are so snobbish about fish I'll never know. The Huss was as always, full of flavour, soft and less than £4.00 for a mammoth portion. The chips were too many and rather greasy. Rather than risk two sick dogs in the car, I asked James to help me use them as bait for a photo or two. I had the camera ready as he tossed them one by one into the air. It will take me a week to decide on the best action shots of the birds swiping them in flight.

Seagulls really are clever... not silly seagulls at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.