Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Drama in the Lobelia Patch

I'm going with this shot today because it depicts what the garden looks like pretty accurately. All of my perennials are blooming and the hummingbirds are so amped up on sugar and nectar that they are ready to attack anything that gets too near. Here you see a young male displaying in an effort to scare off an approaching hummer. It didn't work and the two spiraled upwards locked in battle where they were joined by a third. I wish I could get a video so that you could see and hear the whole thing - it's pretty amazing.

I posted 8 other shots starting HERE - five other hummer shots, a flower, a juvenile grackle and a hoverfly.

And I took a quick video on my iPhone of a male hummer at the feeder if you'd like to have a look HERE

Have been packing up some of the kitchen today - mostly things like dried beans and other shelf-stable items that I am not likely to use in the next few months. Also packed up some things in the garage. A friend is coming by sometime this afternoon to buy our snowblower (good riddance to snow removal!) So, a somewhat productive day, I guess.

Hubs is off to look at two rentals today in St. Pete, and possibly one more tomorrow. Really hoping that at least one of them is suitable. We applied for a place he looked at just before he came up here last weekend, but we learned that the landlord took the first applicant for it ... which wasn't us, unfortunately. Isn't it kind of ironic that we can't sell our house, but landlords in FL are having to beat potential tenants off with a stick!? I am sure this will seem much more humorous in hindsight than it does at the moment.

Hoping you are all having a good weekend. Cheers!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.