Finally...Monarchs!

Looked out into our backyard this afternoon and saw no less than four Monarch Butterflies. They appeared to be searching for plants for ovipositing, laying their eggs. This year most of the milkweed has been decimated by a bumper crop of MILKWEED BUGS! I'm not sure what the Monarchs' Plan B is. They came by today to sip a little nectar from the pink pentas. They must have other plants that are acceptable for egg laying, I'm just not aware of which they are.

Here are a few traditional shots of today's Monarchs...FULL WINGSPREAD, SIDE VIEW, UP CLOSE OF WING. I hope that you are enjoying my Backyard Butterflies Series. I've been pleasantly surprised at the diversity of butterflies I'm seeing this early in the season.
'Plant It and They Will Come', I guess :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.