Life Savors

By osuzanna

All Clear

Three weeks ago today, I disrupted a yellow jacket nest and was stung. My husband, who came to my rescue was stung several times and after 8 days developed a "delayed anaphylactic" reaction. He now has to carry antihistamines and epinephrine at all times and he has many months of desensitization ahead of him. The nest has since been eliminated.

Today, he noticed many buzzing striped insects at the top of one of our bushes. We couldn’t get close enough to see whether they were yellow jackets, so I sent him indoors and got out my telephoto lens and snapped many shots. The good news they are just bees. Bees have a more amber colored stripe, are hairy, while yellow jackets are not, and bees have 4 wings, while wasps only have two. Many of you probably know all this, but it was new to us.

I shot many, many photos of the bees and this is the only one fit for posting. I now have an even greater appreciation for the incredible bee photos I see here on blipfoto....very difficult to capture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.