Passing traffic

After yesterday's exertions in the ditch I've been pondering just what set up will work best for capturing butterflies. There are so many variables. Firstly there're the butterflies themselves which behave differently depending on the weather and how long it is since they hatched. The best ones - most colourful - are those that have just come out of the pupa stage and they're often skittish. Not many of those around just now.

Cool weather is quite good as that can make them less active and more approachable. This morning we had thunder and downpours followed by hot sunshine so not perfect. Also, the light was harsh.

Some people like macros with flash attachments. I think I'd prefer one that gives me a bit of distance and Nikon makes a good 200mm macro but it's expensive.

My Nikon 70-200mm zoom is not bad but it's not a macro lens. The 50mm lens that took this one has wonderful glass but this, too, is not macro lens. I have a 60mm macro but you have to get too close for it to be worthwhile with all but the dosiest butterflies. And my old Sigma 70-300mm, which has proved so versatile, does not have the clarity I'm after. Then I have to ask myself, what exactly is it that I'm trying to do? I quite like shots that show an animal in context - a butterfly on a flower or communing with others or, in the case of this Peacock here, sitting among some passing traffic.

I like stuff that's difficult too, and I've decided that getting a good shot of a Grayling butterfly (a bit dull and moth-like as butterflies go) is not going to be easy. I tracked it down again this morning - just one spot on the edge of a wood - but it kept hiding and hiding (it's on the stick!) until I gave up as I had to get home. I'm waiting for this butterfly obsession to run its course and everything is getting a bit back endish now, but, for now, it's keeping me amused when walking the dog.

I realise the list I made yesterday was betraying signs of OCD, not uncommon in this place!

NB. The orange blob is a large skipper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.