Bread & Butter

10:50am
Dad calling on phone: "Are you dressed? What are you doing?"
Me: "Mmm.. I could be dressed in a second, why?"
Dad: "I'm going to go have my ingrown toenails taken off in a few minutes. Want to meet me so you can see if you want to apply to podiatry school?"
Me: "Yyyyyyes.... I'll meet you there."
------------------------------------------

So here's a little sliver of the podiatrists' bread and butter procedure. At this point in the surgery, she's sticking these q-tips soaked with phenol into the nail beds to cauterize them. This is done in order to prevent the nail from growing back on both sides. Also at this point is when the smell from the phenol overwhelmed me and the blood drained from my head. I had to sit down and stop taking pictures.
It was quick... it definitely looked painful to have the toe numbed (huge needle to target the four nerves at the base of the big toe). Took about 10 minutes tops.
Podiatry is potentially something I could look into if medical school doesn't pan out. I'm definitely more interested in it than I am in dentistry.

I've pretty much made up my mind to take the MCAT in March and not take it tomorrow. I've been studying every day, making progress.. I just don't trust my instincts tomorrow. I guess my confidence has been burst one time too many lately -- but I'll get it back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.