The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

The balloon goes up

There were two places that would have been even better to be than Arnside Knott this morning as the mist was clearing. My second choice would have been the top of Ingleborough looking down on the cloud lapping her skirts; but it would have been a challenge to have got up there at 0645 (or preferably earlier). My first choice would have been the hot air balloon (tiny in the distance on the left of the picture, and definitely not a sensor spot) which I watched rise up through the low cloud: they chose the perfect day and time for their trip.

Had I gone out at the usual time, the view would have been even better, but I had a half hour lie-in. I didn't want to start another week feeling exhausted. As it is, right in the middle of a hot Summer, I have contracted man-flu (= a cold) from some unknown source, and I've had a stinking headache and I've been sneezing all day. Enough of the whinging, it's a beautiful evening, there's a chance of a sunset and Gus needs his walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.