Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Last Stack Standing

Almost 25 years ago, I visited the factory that used to stand on this site. Baggeridge Brick was a fantastic place to visit and we were starting out on a new regime of air pollution control where my local authority would authorise the activities at the factory. I've always been fascinated by how things are made, so to visit this site and watch raw clay be transformed into the building blocks of most of our homes was fantastic.

Regrettably, things change and 'progress' is made. As newer factories came on line they produced the Staffordshire Blue brick at a lower cost so this factory was closed down. I know there are other Blippers here who know far more than me about the history of the site and the changes that have occured. They may have further insight they can share.

I was visiting to check on the arrangements for the final clearance of the site (and I imagine the demolition of the stack!). I quickly grabbed the camera to record the stack still standing proud, for posterity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.