Newcastle life

By Puffling

Mouth of the Tyne

Was working at the hospital today but was able to leave early to take my grandpa to his hospital appointment. Afterwards I went to my grandparents house for dinner. Whilst my nanna cooked the dinner I started taking notes about my grandpa's life as I am planning to make a memory book to share with my family.
Then we drove down to the beech and I took some photos of Herd Groyne (an unusual lighthouse built in 1882, before the lighthouses were built) and the Weebles (22 bronze statues called "The conversation piece", designed by Juan Munoz in 1999). It was a beautiful clear day and there were lots of people around the beach including cyclists and some people kayaking.
I took a photo to blip including the Weebles, the lighthouse and looking across of the mouth of Tyne to Tynemouth priory.
We then went to the fabulous Minchellas ice-cream parlour and had a nut sundae each. The queues were really long! I used to come here as a child and the parlour still looks just the same, like a 1950s diner but it has been extended since then.
I am making sure to spend as much time as possible with my grandpa since his diagnosis so that we can make some happy memories together.
I finally got round to becoming a full blip member today too- I haven't had time to look around yet to see the benefits yet. Will have to have a good look tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.