One click at a time

By KeithKnight

Royal Garden Party

This is one piece of family history that I was hoping to find as I cleared out the house.

A photo and newspaper cutting from 1970, when I was invited to Buckingham Palace for a Garden Party as part of the 100th anniversary celebrations for the founding of the British Red Cross.

While at the party I was one of the people selected at random to actually meet the queen. I understand that she has now recovered from the experience!, needless to say I haven't been invited back, but to be fair I haven't even returned the compliment of inviting her to my house for tea.

What did she ask about?, having asked where I was from she remembered having opened the new library in the town some years before, and also (easier for her to remember) that she started her honeymoon at Luton Hoo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.