Capital adventures

By marchmont

Last shift

A half and half day today. A late morning and early afternoon on the 'day job', meeting Glasgow Simon Community with N. It was the first time I've been in the city during the Games and it was good to see how busy it was and feel the buzz.

Then by bus to Wellshot. The wrap party was in full swing. I didn't stay long but I did collect my farewell gifts.

We were mob handed again on the last shift but I had a great job, on the medal presenters' team. 8 medals tonight andM and I did the even ones which meant the last medal of the Swimming programme. I watched the race before taking the presenters down and was back in time to see Australia, South Africa and the winners, England, do their victory walk. Very few people seem to know Jerusalem but I sang it down in the medal prep area.

The Australian team were definitely giving it laldy tonight - 'Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, oy oy oy'and 'Waltzing Matilda'. They have had such a successfuland swimming meet. And I was standing behind Daniel Wallace as he kilted up before getting HIS medal, a great crowd pleaser.

Overall the atmosphere was amazing tonight and we had a relaxed visit from the Wessexes who were happy to chat. But it was the swimming and the crowd and the noise and the flags and the enthusiasm and the team and of course Billy Connolly which made the experience. Unforgettable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.