Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Brothers

Hugely grateful to Kristina nurse come plumber (yep, she recently installed a new kitchen tap/faucet for us), photographic assistant and boys' clothes shopper extraordinaire for helping me with this. Now the irony is that she'd been trying to capture the boys and I for a while (in all manual) and then I was itchy with not being behind the camera and I wanted to capture just a couple of the boys together so I grabbed a few frames before this. They were rascalling too much so all bets (and promised movies) were off. I put my camera down and looked up to see this. And the outtake here became my favourite.

This morning we all went to the Toni & Guy Academy for a spruce (can you tell!), then we passed by the new school campus (more on that tomorrow), and raced home for Reuben's piano lesson.

Reuben's favourite moment of every week, the one he counts down to and asks "Will we get back in time for my piano lesson?" incessantly in relation to. A couple of weeks ago, he joked with me just moments after teacher Beau left.

“No! I don’t want to do piano lessons any more.” So I played along with his joke, picking up the phone and pretend calling Beau to say that Reuben didn't want to learn the piano anymore. I looked over to see Reuben in floods of tears, truly thinking that I’d taken away one of his greatest periods of enjoyment. He was quite inconsolable. In time, he was able to understand that I’d been playing along with his joke, he, the master of jokes, but the still uncertain nature of his questions, “So Beau is coming next week?” helped me fully understand the enjoyment he receives from learning the piano and from the focused attention which keeps him so focused that the lesson indeed affords.

Alternative captured by Kristina, camera settings and post production by me on 500px. A framer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.