1958 Picnic on the rocks

A cool and cloudy day back in 1958, on vacation with my family in Machiasport. We were enjoying a picnic on the rocks behind my Great Aunt Abbie's cousin' Emery's house on Clark's Point. My Grandfather Hanson, in back with the camera around his neck, was born on that Point, as were his ancestors. My mother was snapping the photo, my dad's in his saddle shoes. I'm wearing my red rubbers and my brother at three was on his first trip to Maine. Great Aunt Abbie, my grandfather's sister, is in the jacket and Nora is holding a bottle of Coke, which amazes me. My grandfather's cousin Emery was entertaining us. He and my grandfather had crewed on vessels with sails and coal hauling steamers together.

It's been a lovely restful morning of coffee and crosswords with a cozy cat.

For the Record,
This day came in cool and sunny, flowing tide.

All hands healthy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.