Christiana Helen Perry

By ChristianaPerry

Kickboxing Cambodia

Today I had an 8 hour drive across bumpy, unmade, muddy roads to Siem Reap. Stopped along the way at a market and was surrounded by kids selling fruit. Had a friendly chat until I heard one child say "Do you want a spider?". That's when I realised the enormous creature on her top was not a spider motif but possibly a tarantula. With my phobia of spiders I backed away pretty sharpish.

She said she got it from the jungle and had cut it's poisonous bits off. I kind of wanted to take a photo but it's polite to offer a 1000 note when you do and I thought that would only encourage her to steal animals from the jungle, remove their protective system or their ability to snare food and sell them, so I opted not to and climbed back on the bus slightly traumatised.

Things started to look up when I discovered a waterfall shower on my balcony when I arrived at the hotel in Siem Reap.

This evening I've been to watch some kickboxing, ringside in a small, steamy room. Such an adrenaline rush, I loved it. And the Fuji blew me away performance wise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.