Teasel

By Teasel

Fire Fighter for a Day

I work closely with the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service (SFRS), so when the opportunity came up to go on a Fire Fighter for a Day course, I signed up straight away.  Seven of us headed to the SFRS Training College in Gullane to be put through our paces.  Although I have only had a tiny taster of what the role involves, I have renewed respect for the work of our fire fighters who put their lives on the line to keep us all safe.  It was an amazing day and one that I will remember for a very long time.

Here are four of my colleagues in full kit including breathing apparatus – they had just done an exercise in a smoked-filled room.  This photograph was taken by one of the instructors.  I know it  wasn’t me, as I was in the smoke-filled room with another colleague trying to locate a “body”.  Another colleague has a photograph of us emerging with our “body” – but I haven’t seen it yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.