Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Fun with Helicon Remote

I love technology, though I am a little bit more circumspect and equivocal these days; it isn't always better. Here I've connected my Nikon camera via USB to an Android tablet running Helicon Remote. You can control all aspects of the camera from the tablet, focus remotely, change exposure, WB, ISO, exposure compensation, even bracket. It calculates the number of shots needed to focus stack between two focus points and then automatically takes all of the photos, either recording them to the memory card or importing and carrying out the stack on the tablet. WOW!

I decided to test it on the lillies in the garden, complete with evidence of the change in the weather. I purposefully used a wide aperture to keep the background out of focus. Over 60 shots were required to capture focus from the tip of the petal to its comapnion in the background. The app handled it with aplomb. The live view even indicates over exposure in live view, as well as areas in focus. That's handy as you can't get that information from the rear display of the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.