Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

I Need Some Hair of the Horse

My bow is long overdue for a re-hairing. There are gaps in the hair where chunks of hair have torn off or worn off over time. It's not holding rosin very well anymore, and thus, I'm getting more squeaky sounds. (and believe me, the last thing I need is to create even MORE squeaky sounds).

This meant a visit to my local neighborhood luthier, Dave Nerad. Here stands Dave with a large swath of fresh horse hair. From this, he will take out the little bit he needs to rehair my cello's bow. The hair is not bleached, and comes straight from a horse with a blonde tail (why this amazes me, I'm not sure). Dave feels the horse hair he uses is the best quality for a reasonable price.

The hairs for my bow will need time to stretch and dry, so I'll return in a few days for pickup. I can't wait to try it out! I need every advantage I can get!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.