Third & fourth Cousins

We went to the Historical Society Lobster Roll & Chowder fest today at Starboard. We parked way down by the canoes and walked around at Starboard Cove before walking up the dirt road to the supper. We were pretty early and there were not many people eating outside under the tents, most were inside. So we got settled under a tent and were served our lobster roll and potato salad. Pretty soon a mum and three girls joined us, two of the girls were hers and the other one with them was a hilarious little friend. We started talking and she looked at me and said I looked familiar, I told her I didn't think so, and started to tell her we were in the house at the base of Trafton's Hill, next to KK's house. I usually name my great aunt if older folks ask where we are staying, but younger people wouldn't know someone who died in '87. She went on to say that her grandfather used to live in the yellow house, well, it was green then, and he was the Postmaster. T said GILBERT???!!! Yup, she was the daughter of J, Gilbert's daughter, my second cousin!!! So, she and I are third cousins. We had a great time chatting, Small world. We lost touch with her family pretty much after her grandfather dies, I have not seen her mother for years. Small world. So here we are, unexpected cousins, sharing a meal in Maine. Gilbert's father was my grandfather's brother. We finished off the lobster rolls and salads, had a bowl of fish chowder and pie for dessert.



We spent the morning watching hummingbirds and relaxing. We set up a feeder last night and had three young ones swooping in and sparring all day. I only have my 28mm fixed lens Leica X2 with me, I left the Nikon family of lenses home. This is heavily cropped but I'm pleased with it. They have no fear here, not shy like our lone male hummer at home.

Before going to Starboard we stopped at our favorite, Jasper Beach. The beach that Paula Banks and her husband and the two blond bombshells have walked as well. It's a beach of just smooth stones and breathtakingly beautiful. Paula, it was a bit crowded, at least 4 cars!

Low tide sunset on the river

We're all tucked in

For the Record,
This day came in overcast and coolish, with humid air. It was colder by the water as the day went on.

All hands healthy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.