Bird and Bros

Arvin, Brother Steve, Helena and I drove down to Anacortes today to attend the Anacortes Arts Festival. I love this annual event. There are all kinds of booths with all kinds of art and craft goodies. We met Blip friend Tookie and Big R at my brother Dave's house where we spent some time all together talking. Then we all walked downtown to the festival: Brother Dave and Nora, Steve, Arvin, Helena, Big R, Tookie and me.

It was hot and sunny but pleasant and we enjoyed visiting the booths and talking to the artists. Along the way we met a gal with a large beautiful Macaw on her arm. She was letting people greet the bird as it perched on their right arm, his preferred perch. What a beautiful bird. She said she got him when he was three months old and now he is 15. That is really young for a parrot. We loved spending time with him and I took photos of various family members holding him. Here are my two brothers, Dave on the right and Steve on the left.

As we continued to wander I stopped at two vendors with wonderful shirts for women. I bought one from each and like them both very much. We headed down to the food area and had a yummy lunch. Mine was Thai food and very enjoyable. We then had ice cream and headed down to the large building where the Arts at the Port show was. My three paintings were displayed really well. They didn't sell but that was true of most of the work there. Never mind. I was just delighted that they were juried into the show.

At the end of the day, I picked up my paintings and the family headed home for some quiet time. Tookie and Big R had left for home earlier in the day. We all headed to the Brown Lantern for a light dinner. I wasn't very hungry so I had part of an appetizer and brought the rest home. It was a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.